Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs – The Answers

Last week, in celebration of Easter, the Grasshopper and I dyed eggs using food-based ingredients.   Here’s a quick link in case you missed that post.  It was so much fun and a few of the colors were so surprising that I decided to make a game of it and let you guess which ingredients produced which colors.

Here’s that list of dye ingredients again:

  • Spinach
  • Beets
  • Turmeric
  • Purple Cabbage
  • Yellow Onion Skins
  • Blueberries
  • Paprika & Chili Powder

And here’s that picture with the numbered eggs:

Which egg is which?

 

I had a few people guess in the comments and several guess in real-life and via email.  So here are the answers!

# 1 – Onion skins. I love how the membranes of the onions left that pretty pattern on the shell.
#2 was blueberries. Look at the polka-dots left behind where the berries rested against the eggs!
#3 was spinach. I think if I had processed the spinach in a blender I might have gotten a greener color. But it’s still so soft and pretty.
#4 was a blend of paprika and chili powder. Mr. Grasshopper said that this one looked like marble.
#6 was beets. This one actually changed pretty significantly as it dried. It turned into a beautiful green and purple marbled effect which you can almost see in this picture.
#6 was turmeric. I loved how speckled this turned out!
#7 was purple cabbage. This one was such a pretty surprise! Who knew that the purple cabbage would turn blue!

I hope you all had a wonderful week this week!  Happy Easter, happy spring!

2 thoughts on “Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs – The Answers

  1. Those were neat! We use natural dyes for our Christmas cookie frosting – I’ll have to give red cabbage a go! We have good red, yellow, and green colors (beet, turmeric, chlorophyll), but the blueberry didn’t give us very good color last year – cabbage it is!!

    Like

    1. That is amazing Diana! But I have to ask this: Did your cookies taste like turmeric? I had a few eggs that cracked (on purpose to see if I could get a crackle effect. Didn’t work), and they all tasted very strongly of the dye. It was pretty unpleasant in all cases. How did you deal with that?

      Like

Leave a comment